SHE’S THE VINYL QUEEN FROM MY SURFER DREAM

img_2688.jpg
Remember that Eagles song Hotel California? Found it.

I’ve been seeing a lot of homeless people when I drive lately. Don’t get me wrong everyone knows the streets of Hollywood are littered with broken dreams and failed career’s but still there are A LOT of homeless people. Point being, I don’t know if that’s foreshadowing or motivation to not be broke. Still no current income but if I learned one thing from Ray Liotta in Blow it’s “money isn’t real.” Right Georgie?

IMG_2686.JPG

Things got a tad bit wild yesterday. I woke up, screwed up a bunch of stuff with my banks, then shot down to Santa Monica to meet my old acquaintance / new friend Matty. Today’s the day we become kings of the ocean, Broseidons’ if you will. We did some research and found this surf shop close by with a total Cali bro running it. He was wearing tong sandals with jeans, a tank top, and a shark tooth necklace. Dirty blonde hair down to his shoulders oozing with this “I’ve been surfing these waters for 50 years” presence. This guy was electric; he could have sold me anything in the store with one hair flip. Anyway we rented surf boards. I didn’t rent a wetsuit but would recommend renting one next time if you go. Water temperature varies but the surfboard starts to feel like sandpaper shredding your chest and arms. Or maybe I’m being a kook. I assaulted that mo’fuckin ocean though, so check that off the bucket list ✔️

What happened next was absolutely bananas. After going 12 rounds with the ocean we were drained, dead, and hungry. We walked back to the shop to return the boards and sit down at this plastic picnic table next door to the shop. Scrolling through Instagram something strange happened. A foreign scent had entered my nose. But my sense’s are familiar with this smell. The ever so sweet pizza aroma? No. It can’t be. Not here. I picked my head up and a waitress walks out with two menus to Bruno’s Italian Restaurant. I told you this story was bananas but wait it gets better. 15 minutes later a BEAUTIFUL pizza comes out and guess what. It was good. I haven’t decided if it was actually really good yet or just really good because I haven’t had a decent piece in a while. You bet we ate that entire pie, no fucks given. Bruno’s pizza in Santa Monica you heard it here first.

I spent the rest of the night on main street in an old Victorian mansion that was converted into a bar. The drinks were strong, the music was good, and people were nice. What’s nice about main street is when everything closes around 1:30am – 2:00am the streets are lined with food trucks. Maybe ill just convert this into a food blog. Pay me to eat and then talk about it on the internet. That’s the dream.

 

Leave a comment